Business overview

Select commenced operations in Malawi in late 2009 with first disbursements occurring in February 2011. In August 2010, Select Malawi entered into a long-term debt financing agreement with the Soros Economic Development Fund, who were keen to support a housing-focused lending business in this economically disadvantaged country. This funding was converted into local currency using a back-to-back facility with FMB Malawi.

As most Government Ministries in Malawi are headquartered in Lilongwe, Select chose to establish its head office in Lilongwe. Select also has 2 other regional hubs in Blantyre and Mzuzu as well as 27 satellite offices scattered around the country.

Select Financial Services has grown to one of the dominant micro lenders in the Malawi financial services market and is the only MFI focusing on housing microfinance in Malawi.

Malawi Loan Calculator

Submit

Contact details

CEO: James Kajamu

Deputy CEO: Kisa Kalolokesya

Physical Address:
Lilongwe Branch
Shop 7 & 8,
Hayyat Complex,
Kamuzu Procession Way,
P O Box 2489,
Lilongwe,
Malawi

Telephone Number: +265 175 8861

Fax Number: +265 175 8866

Blantyre Branch

Branch Manager: Madalitso Goneka

Physical Address:
Kabula House,
4 Chilembwe Road,
Blantyre

Postal Address:
C/O African Alliance
P.O BOX 3340
Blantyre

Telephone Number:
+265 18 30780 | +265 18 32356

Mzuzu Branch

Branch Manager: Paul Kavuta

Physical Address:
Mkhalabweka Building, Chenda Street

Postal Address:
C/O Lutho Arcade
P.O.Box 225
Mzuzu

Team management

James Kajamu

James Kajamu

Country CEO

kajamuj@selectafrica.net

Zagwa Matale

Zagwa Matale

Collections Manager (Lilongwe)

matalez@selectafrica.net

Kisa Kalolokesya

Kisa Kalolokesya

Deputy CEO

kalolokesyak@selectafrica.net

Queen Phiri

Queen Phiri

Administration Manager (Lilongwe)

phiriq@selectafrica.net

Macford Dick

Macford Dick

Key Account Manager (Lilongwe)

macfordd@selectafrica.net

Madalitso Goneka

Madalitso Goneka

Branch Manager (Blantyre)

gonekam@selectafrica.net

Mcwilly Toto

Mcwilly Toto

Collections Manager (Lilongwe)

mcwillym@selectafrica.net

Paul Kavuta

Paul Kavuta

Branch Manager (Mzuzu)

kavutap@selectafrica.net